Local Public Health

North Dakota's public health system is decentralized with 28 independent local public health units working in partnership with the North Dakota Department of Health. The 28 local public health units are organized into single or multi-county health districts, city/county health departments or city/county health districts. Seventy-five percent of the local health units serve single county, city or combined city/county jurisdictions, while the other 25 percent serve multi-county jurisdictions. The majority of the multi-county jurisdictions reside in the western part of the state. In this decentralized approach, the units are required to meet state standards and follow state laws and regulations, but they can exercise their own powers and have administrative authority to make decisions to meet their local needs.

North Dakota local public health units have a long history of providing personal and population based health services to residents in their city and/or county jurisdictions.  The local public health infrastructure represents the capacity and expertise necessary to carry out services and programs.  Therefore, the health units function differently and offer an array of services.  The most common activities and services provided by local public health are child immunizations, adult immunizations, tobacco use preventions, high blood pressure screening, injury prevention screening, blood lead screening and Early and Periodic Screening Diagnosis and Treatment.


Local Public Health Units

Bismarck-Burleigh Public Health Cavalier County Health District
Central Valley Health Unit City-County Health Department
Custer Health Dickey County Health District
Emmons County Public Health Fargo Cass Public Health
First District Health Unit Foster County Health Department
Grand Forks Public Health Department Kidder County District Health Unit
Lake Region District Health Unit LaMoure County Public Health Department
McIntosh District Health Unit Nelson/Griggs District Health Unit
Pembina County Health Department Ransom County Public Health Department
Richland County Health Department Rolette County Public Health District
Sargent County District Health Unit Southwestern District Health Unit
Steele County Public Health Department Towner County Public Health District
Traill District Health Unit Upper Missouri District Health Unit
Walsh County Health Department Wells County District Health Unit


Tribal Health
Spirit Lake Sioux Nation Standing Rock
Three Affiliated Tribes Turtle Mountain Chippewa
Trenton Indian Services Area Sisseton Indian Health