
Nationally, car crashes are a leading 
cause of death for children.

In North Dakota, 87% of the children younger than 11 years of age were 
observed using a car seat or seat belt in the vehicle.

85% were observed to be traveling in the back seat.

Where can you get more information?

Call the North Dakota Department of Health at 800.472.2286 or visit http://www.safercar.gov/parents/index.htm
or http://www.ndhealth.gov/injuryprevention/childpassenger/ 

What are ND Child Passenger Safety Observation Surveys?

In 2015, the North Dakota Department of Health observed child occupants younger than age 11 in ten of the largest cities in 
North Dakota.  The surveys were conducted at locations where vehicles came to a stop, allowing the trained observer to look 
into the vehicle and record observations.  The point-in-time observations are used to determine: 

	 •	 Child seating location - front or back seat 

	 •	 Child restrained or unrestrained

	 •	 Driver restraint status

	 •	 How infants were restrained (birth to 1)

	 •	 How toddlers were restrained (1-5 years)

	 •	 How children were restrained (6-10 years)

How can communities use this observation data?

	 •	 Use the data to improve any weaknesses observed in the community. 

	 •	 Use the data to reinforce the positive behaviors observed in the community.

	 •	 Share this document with others in the community.  Pass along child passenger safety  
		  best practice information to caregivers in the city and county.

What is recommended for child passenger safety best practices?

	 •	 Children younger than 13 should ride in the back seat.

	 •	 REAR-FACING: Children should ride rear-facing until at least 2 years of age
	 	 (following car seat instructions)

	 •	 FORWARD-FACING: When children are at least 2 years of age or have outgrown the 	
		  highest rear-facing limits of their car seat, they may ride forward-facing in a car 		
	 	 seat with a harness. Use the seat until the child reaches the harness’s highest weight  
		  limit allowed by the manufacturer. 

	 •	 BOOSTERS: When children have outgrown the harness in their forward-facing car seat,  
		  they may be moved to a booster. The child should be at least 40 pounds and at least 4  
	 	 years of age.  Keep the child in the booster until about 4’9” tall. 

	 •	 SEAT BELT: Children should use a seat belt when it fits over the body correctly. For a seat belt to fit properly, the  
		  lap belt must lie snugly across the upper thighs and be snug across the shoulder and chest. It should not lie on  
		  the stomach or across the neck.	

2015 North Dakota Child Passenger Safety Observation Surveys

See North Dakota Data



Overall restraint use in North Dakota is 87%.
Welcome

To
NORTH DAKOTA

While 92% of toddlers* were
observed in some form of restraint, 
10% were using a seat belt.  Best 
practice for this age group is to travel
in a car seat or booster seat. It is
against the North Dakota law for
children younger than seven years
to ride in a seat belt only.

Restraint use decreases as children age in
North Dakota. The decreases were observed in all 10 
surveys conducted in North Dakota. This is alarming 
because injuries and fatalities due to motor vehicle 
crashes increase as children become teenagers.

*Toddlers = estimated ages 1-5 years
**Children = estimated ages 6-10 years 100%
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Child Passenger Observation Survey Results
in North Dakota:
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Survey Details

car seat

booster

seat belt

28% of children** were observed in the front seat (3 out of 10).

OOO

81% of children** were restrained: Children** in this age 
group are safer in a 
booster seat and should 
not ride in a seat belt 
until they are 4’9” or 
until the seat belt fits 
them low on the hips and 
centered across the chest.81% were in a seat belt (8 out of 10)

The back seat is the safest 
place for children under 13 
years old, with or without a 
front air bag.
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