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Observation Surveys 
 
In 2010, the North Dakota Department of Health conducted an observation survey in Bismarck to collect data on restraint use by children younger 
than 11.  The surveys were conducted by certified child passenger safety instructors at locations where vehicles came to a complete stop, allowing the 
observer to peer into the vehicle and record observations.  Similar surveys were done in nine other communities across the state. 
 
Key Findings – Grand Forks 
 
 100 percent of infants younger than 1 were riding in a car safety seat. 
 91.8 percent of toddlers ages 1 through 5 were buckled in a car seat, booster seat or seat belt. 
 85.1 percent of children ages 6 through 10 were buckled in a seat belt, booster seat or car seat. 

 
 
Type of Restraint – Toddlers Ages 1 through 5    Grand Forks Restraint Use Compared to State 

     
 

* Worth noting is the percentage of toddlers ages 1 through 5 who were 
 riding in a seat belt.  North Dakota law requires children younger than 7 
 to use a car seat or booster seat unless they are more than 80 pounds 
and 4’9” tall.   
 



Year-to-Year Comparison – Grand Forks     Front Seat Restraint Use 

    
       
 
*The following graph shows changes in restraint use by infants,  *The chart shows the number of children younger than 11 years  
toddlers ages 1 through 5 and children ages 6 through 10    observed riding in the front seat of the vehicle. 
between 1994 and 2010.  Because of the small number of infants  
observed, fluctuations between years may not be significant in  
this category.    
 
Tips for Buckling Up Kids 
 

1. Infant Seats 
Place infants in the back seat in rear-facing car seats until they are at least two years of age or until they reach the maximum limits of the car 
seat. 

2. Toddler Seats 
When children are at least two years of age or have outgrown their rear-facing car seat, they may ride forward-facing in a car seat with a 
harness.  Use the car seat until the maximum limits. 

3. Booster Seats 
Once children outgrow their forward-facing car seat (minimum 40 pounds and 4 years old), they should ride in booster seats in the back seat 
until the seat belts fit properly. 

4. Seat Belts 
Children should ride in a booster seat until the seat belt fits their body correctly.  The lap seat belt should fit low on the hip bones and the 
shoulder belt should be centered on the shoulder and chest. 
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