Child Passenger Observation Survey Results
2010 Devils Lake

Observation Surveys

In 2010, the North Dakota Department of Health conducted an observation survey in Bismarck to collect data on restraint use by children younger

than 11. The surveys were conducted by certified child passenger safety instructors at locations where vehicles came to a complete stop, allowing the
observer to peer into the vehicle and record observations. Similar surveys were done in nine other communities across the state.

Key Findings — Devils Lake

B 100 percent of infants younger than 1 were riding in a car safety seat.
B 85.1 percent of toddlers ages 1 through 5 were buckled in a car seat, booster seat or seat belt.
B 81.5 percent of children ages 6 through 10 were buckled in a seat belt, booster seat or car seat.
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* Worth noting is the percentage of toddlers ages 1 through 5 who were
riding in a seat belt. North Dakota law requires children younger than 7
to use a car seat or booster seat unless they are more than 80 pounds
and 4°9” tall.



Year-to-Year Comparison — Devils Lake Front Seat Restraint Use
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*The following graph shows changes in restraint use by infants, *The chart shows the number of children younger than 11 years
toddlers ages 1 through 5 and children ages 6 through 10 observed riding in the front seat of the vehicle.

between 1994 and 2010. Because of the small number of infants
observed, fluctuations between years may not be significant in
this category.

Tips for Buckling Up Kids

1.

Infant Seats

Place infants in the back seat in rear-facing car seats until they are at least two years of age or until they reach the maximum limits of the car
seat.

Toddler Seats

When children are at least two years of age or have outgrown their rear-facing car seat, they may ride forward-facing in a car seat with a
harness. Use the car seat until the maximum limits.

Booster Seats

Once children outgrow their forward-facing car seat (minimum 40 pounds and 4 years old), they should ride in booster seats in the back seat
until the seat belts fit properly.

Seat Belts

Children should ride in a booster seat until the seat belt fits their body correctly. The lap seat belt should fit low on the hip bones and the
shoulder belt should be centered on the shoulder and chest.
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