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SUBJECT:  Continuing Education Grant (previously Conference Grant) 
 
Rationale:  DEMST administers grants to foster EMS training.  To 
decrease the expense of obtaining continuing education, DEMST will 
award a grant to licensed or certified North Dakota EMS agencies in the 
following amounts under the following conditions: 

Conferences 
1. Grants are awarded at $60 / 8-hour day with a maximum of $180 for a three-day conference. 

2. Each conference must offer a minimum of 8 hours of continuing education per day up to three 
days.   

3. Conference organizers must apply for pre-approval in the manner required by DEMST a 
minimum of 30 days prior to the event. 

4. Conference must be held within the state of North Dakota. 

5. To be eligible for funding under this program each individual must be licensed as a patient 
care provider at a level that requires continuing education and / or refresher hours, and be a 
member of a licensed or certified responding EMS agency. 

6. Conferences must have an open registration and be available to all EMS providers in the state. 

7. Conferences provided free of charge are not eligible for this program. 

8. The conference organizer must provide a list of all registrants to DEMST not more than 14 
days after the conference.  The list must include state EMS number, name and EMS agency 
affiliation. Each participant may only be reimbursed to ONE EMS agency. 

9. If approved, the conference organizers must inform the registrants that the conference 
qualifies for the Continuing Education Grant program. 

10. Conferences that have been pre-approved as a First Responder refresher will have a maximum 
reimbursement of two days. 

11. Applications must be submitted by the EMS Agency on behalf of their qualified members that 
attended using the Continuing Education Grant Application form provided by DEMST.  The 
EMS agency must then reimburse the individual if they paid for their own training.  

12. Applications must be submitted within 45 days of conference completion. Eligibility of each 
applicant will be verified.   
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EVOC 

1. EVOC instructor courses are reimbursable at a rate of $300 / person.   

2. A maximum of 50 grants will be paid from this funding and will be paid on a first-come first-
served basis.  This grant will end on July 15, 2011.   

3. The individual must agree to instruct a minimum of two public EVOC classes by July 1, 2011 
and one EVOC class every two years thereafter. 

4. EVOC provider courses are reimbursable at a rate of $60 / person. 

5. To be eligible for funding under this program each individual must be a member of a licensed 
or certified responding EMS agency. 

6. Course authorization requests must be submitted for approval at least two weeks prior to the 
beginning date of the course.   

7. Appropriate paperwork for completed courses must be submitted to DEMST within two 
weeks of course completion. 

8. All EVOC courses submitted for approval by DEMST that do not utilize the curriculum 
issued by the United States department of transportation national highway traffic safety 
administration and do not include a driving portion must be accompanied by a waiver.  A 
waiver template may be supplied by DEMST. 

9. Applications must be submitted by the EMS Agency on behalf of their qualified members that 
attended using the Continuing Education Grant Application form provided by DEMST.  The 
EMS agency must then reimburse the individual if they paid for their own training. Eligibility 
of each applicant will be verified.   

Local EMS Agency Training 
1. Training maybe reimbursed at a rate of $7.50 / hour / person. 

2. To be eligible for funding under this program each individual must be licensed as a patient 
care provider at a level that requires continuing education and / or refresher hours, and be a 
member of a licensed or certified responding EMS agency. 

3. Pre-approved EMT-B refresher courses (not to exceed 24 hours per person), pre-approved 
First Responder refresher courses (not to exceed 16 hours per person) and nationally 
recognized courses (hours based on the recommended number of hours for the course) may 
qualify for reimbursement upon DEMST approval. 

4. There is a limit of one Local EMS Agency Training request per service per fiscal year. 
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5. Applications must be submitted by the EMS Agency on behalf of their qualified members that 

attended using the Continuing Education Grant Application form provided by DEMST.  The 
EMS agency must then reimburse the individual if they paid for their own training. Eligibility 
of each applicant will be verified.   

6. Contact DEMST for approval of nationally recognized courses prior to conducting the course. 

 

DEMST may deny approval based on other factors not listed here. 

 
 


